Lipotropic Blend
L-Carnitine + ATP + B12 + MIC + Albuterol
Lipotropic Blend (L-Carnitine + ATP + B12 + MIC + Albuterol) is a metabolic & fat loss research compound. AminoWell fat-metabolism blend — L-carnitine shuttles fat into mitochondria, MIC (methionine/inositol/choline) supports liver fat handling, ATP + B12 add cellular energy, and a small amount of albuterol (a beta-2 agonist) nudges lipolysis and metabolic rate.
Lipotropic Blend quick facts
| Reported research dose | As directed (20mL vial) |
| Route | Subq |
| Frequency | 1x Daily pre-exercise · Daily / workout days |
| Half-life | Varies by component |
| Forms | Injectable |
| Evidence level | Blend (component-based) |
AminoWell's lipo shot — the albuterol gives it a metabolic kick, so mind stimulant/cardiac sensitivity and keep it earlier in the day.
How Lipotropic Blend works
AminoWell fat-metabolism blend — L-carnitine shuttles fat into mitochondria, MIC (methionine/inositol/choline) supports liver fat handling, ATP + B12 add cellular energy, and a small amount of albuterol (a beta-2 agonist) nudges lipolysis and metabolic rate.
Proposed benefits
Researched for fat oxidation, appetite and energy regulation, insulin sensitivity and endurance capacity.
Where to get Lipotropic Blend
Buy Lipotropic Blend at AminoWell USA →Bacteriostatic water is the diluent — sterile water with 0.9% benzyl alcohol, which is what lets a vial be drawn from more than once. It does not come with the vial, and unlike the compound it is bought again every time.
Need bacteriostatic water? Get it at AminoWell USA (my company) → Code CAMERON.
The evidence for Lipotropic Blend
Graded by what exists behind each claim.
✅ Clinically validated
- No trial of the blend. Its components have separate evidence bases — see Lipo-C for the MIC/B12 position and L-Carnitine for the shuttle evidence.
- The albuterol component is the one with real pharmacology behind it: a beta-2 agonist, approved for asthma, on the WADA prohibited list above a urinary threshold, and with the same receptor mechanism as clenbuterol at a much shorter half-life.
📊 Correlative data
- Clinic-administered alongside diet and often alongside a GLP-1, which makes attribution to the blend itself unreliable.
- The reported stimulant feel comes from the albuterol, not the lipotropics — which is worth knowing, because that is also the component that raises heart rate and can lower potassium.
🧪 Theoretical / extrapolated
- Four different mechanisms in one syringe: carnitine for mitochondrial fatty acid transport, MIC for hepatic fat export, B12 and ATP for cofactor support, and a small amount of albuterol for beta-2 mediated lipolysis.
- Only the last one has a mechanism that directly mobilizes stored fat. The others support the machinery; albuterol supplies the signal.
- A fixed blend removes the ability to adjust the one component that matters most — and it is the one with cardiovascular effects and a shortest useful duration before receptor downregulation.
How to read these tiers: they say how much human evidence exists, not how well something works — and ✗ flags harm, never a disappointing trial. How the evidence tiers work →
What Lipotropic Blend actually does
This vial contains five things, and only one of them is a drug. L-carnitine, ATP, vitamin B12, MIC — methionine, inositol and choline — and albuterol. Taking them separately is the only honest way to write this page, because their evidence bases are not merely different in strength; they are different in kind.
Albuterol is the pharmacology, and everything else is nutrition. Albuterol (salbutamol) is a beta-2 adrenergic receptor agonist, licensed for asthma. The receptor couples to Gs, raises cyclic AMP, activates protein kinase A, and PKA phosphorylates hormone-sensitive lipase and perilipin on the lipid droplet. That is the canonical lipolytic cascade and it is genuinely how fat is mobilized from an adipocyte. In humans, Straat 2023 showed that stimulating the beta-2 receptor with salbutamol activates brown adipose tissue — a measured, imaging-based demonstration of thermogenic activation in people. And Hostrup 2022 found a beta-2 agonist increased skeletal muscle interleukin-6 production and release in response to resistance exercise in men, which is a real signaling effect in muscle rather than an inference from rodents.
The same receptor is on your heart, and that is not a side effect, it is anatomy. Cardiac tissue carries beta-2 receptors alongside beta-1, and beta-2 agonism at systemic concentrations raises heart rate and contractility, causes tremor through beta-2 receptors on skeletal muscle spindles, and drives potassium into cells — which is why beta-2 agonists are used to treat hyperkalemia and why they lower serum potassium. Every one of those is the same receptor doing the same thing in a different tissue. The dose that mobilizes fat is not separable from the dose that does the rest.
L-carnitine's mechanism is a shuttle, and the injectable route changes the argument in an interesting way. Carnitine is required by carnitine palmitoyltransferase 1 to move long-chain fatty acids across the inner mitochondrial membrane. Muscle carnitine content is hard to raise because uptake is insulin-dependent, and oral carnitine has poor bioavailability — the difficulty that dominates the oral literature Chee 2021. An injection bypasses intestinal absorption entirely, which is the strongest argument this vial has and is also completely unmeasured: nobody has reported muscle carnitine content after subcutaneous administration.
MIC: three lipotropes with a shared premise. The premise is that methyl donors support hepatic export of fat as very-low-density lipoprotein, since phosphatidylcholine is required to assemble a VLDL particle and choline is required to make phosphatidylcholine — either from the diet or by methylating phosphatidylethanolamine with S-adenosylmethionine, which is where methionine enters. That biochemistry is correct and it is a statement about the liver, not about subcutaneous fat. The step from "the liver exports fat better" to "you lose fat" is not in any of it.
ATP and B12 are the two ingredients with the least mechanistic basis for being there. Injected ATP is dephosphorylated in plasma within seconds by ectonucleotidases; it does not enter cells as ATP and cannot raise intracellular ATP, which is regenerated continuously by the mitochondria anyway. B12 is a genuine cofactor for methylmalonyl-CoA mutase and methionine synthase and matters enormously in deficiency — and in a replete person, more B12 produces more urinary B12.
Cell, rodent, human — and where it stops
Step one, the albuterol half, in humans. Beta-2 agonists are among the best-characterized drugs in medicine. Straat 2023 demonstrated brown adipose tissue activation by salbutamol in people; Hostrup 2022 measured the muscle IL-6 response to a beta-2 agonist around resistance exercise in men. The receptor pharmacology, the cardiovascular effects and the potassium shift are all established.
Step two, the fat-loss claim for the blend as a whole: there is no trial. Not a small one, not an old one. A literature search for methionine/inositol/choline injections for weight loss returns veterinary and aquaculture studies. The MIC lipotropic injection has been given in clinics for decades and has never been tested against saline in a published randomized trial. That is the central fact of this page and it is not a matter of interpretation.
Step three, the components separately, where evidence does exist and mostly does not say what the vial implies. Carnitine supplementation and muscle carnitine content Chee 2021; carnitine kinetics Sugiyama 2021; the B12 route question, where a network meta-analysis of administration routes found intramuscular ranked first while the difference against oral was not statistically significant Abdelwahab 2024.
And one finding that runs in the blend's favor, which is the kind of extrapolation worth making explicitly. Dietary carnitine and dietary choline are both metabolized by gut bacteria to trimethylamine, which the liver oxidizes to TMAO — a metabolite associated with cardiovascular risk in humans Koeth 2013 Tang 2013. An injection bypasses the gut microbiota entirely. So the mechanistic prediction is that injected carnitine and choline should generate substantially less TMAO than the same dose swallowed — a genuine theoretical advantage for the route, arising from mechanism, never tested in any species, and stated here as extrapolation rather than as a finding.
The obstacles, named one at a time. (1) No trial of the blend. (2) No trial of MIC injections at all. (3) The albuterol content is not stated anywhere on this page — the dose row reads "As directed (20 mL vial)" with no milligrams per milliliter for any component, so a user cannot know their beta-2 agonist dose, which is the only dose in the vial with real pharmacology behind it. (4) Albuterol is a prescription drug and is on the WADA prohibited list above a urinary threshold, so any tested athlete using this is at risk of an adverse analytical finding from an ingredient whose quantity they were never told.
What would have to be true, and how you would know it was not
Three predictions. The first is a safety measurement that follows directly from beta-2 pharmacology and that nobody associates with a "lipo shot".
1. Potassium is the measurement, and a CMP is how you get it. Beta-2 agonists drive potassium from plasma into cells through Na/K-ATPase activation — the effect is large enough that nebulized albuterol is a standard emergency treatment for hyperkalemia. A repeated daily beta-2 agonist injection is therefore a repeated potassium-lowering stimulus, and low potassium causes cramps, weakness and, at the extreme, arrhythmia. Draw a CMP at baseline and after a few weeks of daily use, and anyone also taking a thiazide or loop diuretic is stacking two potassium-lowering mechanisms and should be more careful, not less.
2. The falsification test for the fat-loss claim is a lipid panel and HbA1c, plus body composition rather than weight. Sustained lipolysis raises circulating free fatty acids; if this vial is doing what it is sold as doing over 12 weeks, the lipid panel, HbA1c and fasting insulin should move together with the body composition. If body weight falls while all three sit still, the caloric deficit that came with the decision to start is doing the work — and that is the most likely explanation, since it is the explanation for most fat loss attributed to injections.
3. The experiment worth running is TMAO, because the prediction here is favorable and nobody has checked. Measure TMAO and, if available, carnitine at baseline and at 8 weeks. The gut-bypass argument predicts that injected carnitine and choline raise TMAO much less than an equivalent oral dose Koeth 2013 Tang 2013. Adding a vitamin B12 level gives the third component for nothing. This is the one place in this cohort where the mechanism predicts an injection is genuinely better than a capsule, and testing it is two blood draws.
What nobody has tested yet
Four experiments, all cheap, on a product that has been sold in clinics for decades.
Nobody has run MIC against saline. Ever. A split-cohort randomized trial of a lipotropic injection against saline with body composition at 12 weeks is a first-year clinical research project, and it has never been published. Every claim made for this category rests on an experiment nobody has done.
Nobody has measured muscle carnitine after injection. The entire mechanistic argument for injecting carnitine is that it bypasses the absorption problem Chee 2021. A muscle biopsy series before and after a course would settle whether the injected route raises tissue carnitine, which oral dosing struggles to do, and it would either justify the whole product or retire it.
Nobody has measured TMAO after injected versus oral carnitine. The prediction above is clean, the assay is commercially available, and no one has done it in any species.
Nobody has published the albuterol pharmacokinetics of a subcutaneous lipotropic blend. Albuterol is normally inhaled, where the systemic dose is small and deliberate, or taken orally. A daily subcutaneous dose has a different absorption profile and no published exposure data in this context — and it is the ingredient the safety of the product actually turns on.
Lipotropic Blend — its own safety story, not its class's
The class block above is written for metabolic blends. This one contains a prescription beta-2 agonist, and that is where the risk is.
The dose of the only active drug in the vial is not stated. The card gives "As directed (20 mL vial)" and no concentration for any component. A person injecting this daily cannot calculate their albuterol dose, cannot compare it with a therapeutic asthma dose, and cannot adjust it. That is the single most important safety statement on this page and it is a documentation failure rather than a pharmacological one.
The cardiovascular effects are the same receptor as the fat effect. Tachycardia, palpitations, tremor and anxiety are beta-2 agonist effects at systemic concentrations, and they are dose-related Straat 2023. The card's advice to mind stimulant and cardiac sensitivity and to dose earlier in the day is correct and it is a consequence of pharmacology rather than a preference. Anyone with an arrhythmia, uncontrolled hypertension or ischemic heart disease has a specific reason to avoid a daily systemic beta-2 agonist.
Potassium is the laboratory risk and it is stackable. See the marker above. It is the mechanism behind cramping on this product, and it is worse in anyone who is also sweating heavily, training hard or on a diuretic.
Tolerance is a real beta-2 phenomenon. Chronic beta-2 agonist exposure downregulates the receptor — this is well-established in asthma, where regular short-acting agonist use reduces bronchoprotection. The mechanistic prediction for a daily lipolytic beta-2 dose is that the metabolic effect fades while the cardiac and tremor effects persist longer, since receptor reserve differs between tissues. Extrapolation from respiratory pharmacology, not a measured finding in this setting, and it argues for intermittent use over continuous.
The sport and prescription problems, stated plainly. Albuterol is a prescription medicine, and it is on the WADA prohibited list above a urinary threshold. A tested athlete using an unlabeled quantity of it is carrying a risk they cannot quantify, and the correct response to an unlabeled ingredient of a prescription drug is to find out how much is in it before the next dose.
Sources read for this page
- Straat ME, et al. Stimulation of the beta-2-adrenergic receptor with salbutamol activates human brown adipose tissue. Cell Reports Medicine 2023 · PMID 36812890
- Hostrup M, et al. Beta2-agonist increases skeletal muscle interleukin 6 production and release in response to resistance exercise in men. Scandinavian Journal of Medicine and Science in Sports 2022 · PMID 35460295
- Tang WH, et al. Intestinal microbial metabolism of phosphatidylcholine and cardiovascular risk. New England Journal of Medicine 2013 · PMID 23614584
Lipotropic Blend — safety, predicted from mechanism
Predicted from mechanism, not from a human safety trial. How that reasoning works →
What the mechanism predicts
Derived from the molecule, not a trial.
- A lipotropic / metabolic-cofactor blend — B-vitamins, methyl donors and carnitine in varying combinations.
- *the metabolic-cofactor arm:* These act on mitochondrial function, NAD+ availability, sirtuin signaling or cellular clearance. The honest prediction is that acute harm is unlikely and the interesting risks are theoretical and long-range — which is a different shape of risk, not an absence of one.
- *the metabolic-cofactor arm:* Growth and clearance signals cut both ways. Anything that improves the efficiency of cell survival is also improving it for cells you would rather not keep. Anything that pushes clearance hard is doing so indiscriminately.
- *the metabolic-cofactor arm:* The near-term, practical ones: NAD+ precursors and infusions commonly cause flushing and a strong sensation if pushed fast, and several compounds in this class are stimulating enough to disrupt sleep.
- The methyl-donor arm is the one to know about. If you carry an MTHFR variant, or already supplement methylfolate and B12, this adds to that pool rather than starting it — and homocysteine is the marker that reads the result.
- The risk that belongs to the blend rather than any component: double-dosing. If you already run any of the peptides above separately, adding this blend means two doses of it — and almost nobody counts a blend's arms against what is already in their protocol. Read the composition against your current stack before the first injection.
What has actually been reported
- *the metabolic-cofactor arm:* Generally well tolerated at studied doses. NAD+ infusion discomfort is rate-dependent and resolves by slowing down.
- *the metabolic-cofactor arm:* The human evidence is mostly short trials with surrogate endpoints — a marker moved, not a life changed. That is worth knowing before you build a decade-long habit on it.
How to reduce the risk
Same mechanism as the prediction.
- *the metabolic-cofactor arm:* Slow the infusion rate. Almost all NAD+ discomfort is rate, not dose. There is no prize for finishing quickly.
- *the metabolic-cofactor arm:* Dose earlier in the day. Several of these are subtly stimulating, and sleep is where most of the repair you are paying for happens.
- *the metabolic-cofactor arm:* Pick an endpoint you can actually measure, and take the baseline before you start. This is the class most prone to spending years on something with no way of knowing whether it did anything.
- *the metabolic-cofactor arm:* Fix the basics first. Sleep, training and bloodwork move the same markers further than anything on this list, and they are free. A longevity compound stacked on four hours of sleep is a rounding error.
What it does to your bloodwork
A fact about the assay.
- *the metabolic-cofactor arm:* There is no NAD+ assay worth ordering clinically. Judge this class on downstream markers — inflammatory markers, lipids, fasting glucose, and whatever your baseline panel showed as out of range.
Don't run this if
- *the metabolic-cofactor arm:* Active malignancy, for the survival-signaling reasoning above.
- *the metabolic-cofactor arm:* Pregnancy — uncharacterized.
The honest unknown
- *the metabolic-cofactor arm:* Whether any of it extends healthspan in humans. Every honest person in this field is running on mechanism and animal data, and this catalog should say so rather than imply otherwise.
Not medical advice. If you take prescription medication or have a diagnosed condition, check this with a pharmacist or doctor.
Lipotropic Blend — interference & stacking
Predicted from mechanism, not from an interaction study. How mechanism-predicted claims are made →
What Lipotropic Blend moves on your bloodwork
Expected direction, not a measured one.
- hs-CRP (High-Sensitivity C-Reactive Protein) — ↓ expected to fall
From the lipotropic arm. Where these work, systemic inflammation is the plausible readout.
What to do: hs-CRP is cheap and moves. Baseline and 12 weeks. - HbA1c (Hemoglobin A1c) — ↓ expected to fall
From the lipotropic arm. Improved mitochondrial and metabolic function should show here if the effect is real at all.
What to do: The honest use of these markers is as a falsification test: if nothing moves in 12 weeks, the compound is not doing much for you. - Comprehensive Metabolic Panel (CMP) — ◆ worth watching
From the lipotropic arm. Liver and kidney function — the standard baseline for anything run long term.
What to do: Twice a year is enough on a stable protocol.
A lipotropic / metabolic-cofactor blend — B-vitamins, methyl donors and carnitine in various combinations. The methyl-donor arm is the one worth knowing about: if you carry an MTHFR variant or are already supplementing methylfolate and B12, you are adding to that pool rather than starting it, and homocysteine is the marker that reads the result.
- How to work up to it, and when not to
- When to take it, and why that window
- Time off between cycles
- Fasted or fed, and when in the day
- Storage and travel
- Coach Cam's personal notes
- Which compounds push the same lever, and why the dose adds up faster than people count
- What blunts it — the stacks that waste your money
- What compounds the risk, so a side effect arrives sooner than any one of them suggests
- Coach Cam's read on running it alongside the rest of your protocol
Everything above is free and stays free. Skool is where it becomes a plan — Lipotropic Blend in an order, with the rest of what you're running.
Unlock in Skool — $10/mo →Bloodwork to run alongside Lipotropic Blend
Baseline first, then again at 8–12 weeks.
| Marker | What it’s watching for |
|---|---|
| HbA1c (Hemoglobin A1c) | Where you started, so you can prove the change was real |
| Fasting Insulin | Moves years before HbA1c does — the earliest signal you get |
| Lipid Panel (Cholesterol, HDL, LDL, Triglycerides) | Rapid fat loss shifts triglycerides fast, in both directions |
| Comprehensive Metabolic Panel (CMP) | Liver, kidney and electrolytes while intake is restricted |
The Metabolic Health & Prediabetes panel covers these in one order — 8 markers, $81.45 with the discount applied.
Check results you already have → · All 103 markers A–Z
Lipotropic Blend — frequently asked questions
What is Lipotropic Blend?
Lipotropic Blend (L-Carnitine + ATP + B12 + MIC + Albuterol) is a metabolic & fat loss research compound. AminoWell fat-metabolism blend — L-carnitine shuttles fat into mitochondria, MIC (methionine/inositol/choline) supports liver fat handling, ATP + B12 add cellular energy, and a small amount of albuterol (a beta-2 agonist) nudges lipolysis and metabolic rate.
Is the full Lipotropic Blend protocol on this page?
The reported research dose is on this page, along with how Lipotropic Blend works and the evidence behind it. The protocol — how to work up to it, frequency, cycle length, time off, what not to stack it with and Coach Cam's notes — is inside Skool.
What is the half-life of Lipotropic Blend?
Lipotropic Blend has an approximate half-life of Varies by component, which is part of what determines how often it's dosed.
What's the evidence behind Lipotropic Blend?
Current evidence level: Blend (component-based). Lipotropic Blend is offered for research purposes only and is not an approved medicine.
What Lipotropic Blend is used for
Lipotropic Blend appears under 1 goal in the goal router.
Related Metabolic & Fat Loss compounds
Where this goes next
The pages here are the frameworks. The protocols — the dosing, the order to correct things in, the week-by-week schedule and what to retest — are inside Skool.