Home › Supplement Vault › Green Coffee Bean Extract

Green Coffee Bean Extract

Also sold as: Green Coffee Extract, Chlorogenic Acid, GCA, GCBE

Metabolic & WeightTested — evidence is negative📊 Correlative data🧪 Theoretical

An extract of unroasted coffee beans sold for its chlorogenic acids. The trial that created the category was retracted and its sponsor settled Federal Trade Commission charges over how the data were produced. What is left is a pooled 1.3 kg from three trials in 103 people.

Educational use only — not medical advice. These statements have not been evaluated by the FDA. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.

Green Coffee Bean Extract quick facts

Suggested doseTrials used an extract delivering 500 mg or more of chlorogenic acids daily; the 6-month metabolic-syndrome trial used 800 mg of extract.
How oftenOnce or twice daily
Who it's forAnyone weighing this against a coffee habit or a plain caffeine product. On current evidence it is not a fat-loss agent.
Coach Cam’s take

Worth knowing where this category came from: the 2012 trial that created it was retracted, and its sponsor settled Federal Trade Commission charges over how the data were produced. Starting from zero, the honest evidence is a pooled 1.30 kg from three trials in 103 people, an 8-week trial that measured body composition instead of scale weight and found no change, and one 6-month trial in 160 people with metabolic syndrome that moved almost every marker it measured and has not been replicated. The practical caution is caffeine: it is usually undeclared, several products labeled decaffeinated were not, and it is the one component with a demonstrated causal link to body fat — so if you take this and something happens, you will not know which ingredient did it.

How Green Coffee Bean Extract actually works

The active fraction is a family of esters, not one molecule: 3-, 4- and 5-caffeoylquinic acid, each a caffeic acid attached to quinic acid at a different position. The enzyme claim is real and its provenance is the interesting part — chlorogenic acid was shown to inhibit the glucose-6-phosphate translocase that lets the liver release free glucose, in rat liver microsomes, in a 1997 medicinal-chemistry paper whose whole purpose was that the natural compound is too weak; the derivative it took forward into perfused liver was 100 times more potent. Then the ester is the problem. Only a minority is absorbed intact; the rest reaches the colon, where bacteria cleave it and degrade the fragments, so what circulates is caffeic and ferulic acid at a few hundred nanomolar, peaking 2.7 to 4.2 hours after the dose. The compound that was put in the enzyme assay is not the compound in the blood.

⚠️ Good to know: ⚠️ Caffeine content is usually undeclared and 'decaffeinated' has been measured as inaccurate — assume some caffeine is present. Watch for additive effects with glucose-lowering drugs and with blood-pressure medication.
⏱ Timing that matters for safety: Check whether yours is decaffeinated. Several products labeled decaf test above threshold, and caffeine alone would produce the effect being attributed to the chlorogenic acids

Where to get Green Coffee Bean Extract

Find Green Coffee Bean Extract on iHerb →
Top-rated brands on iHerb · Coach Cam partner link

The evidence for Green Coffee Bean Extract

Graded by what exists behind each claim.

Tested — the evidence is negative

📊 Correlative data

🧪 Theoretical / extrapolated benefits

How to read these tiers: they say how much human evidence exists, not how well something works — and ✗ flags harm, never a disappointing trial. How the evidence tiers work →

What Green Coffee Bean Extract actually does

What is in the capsule is not one molecule, and that is the first thing the panel gets wrong. Chlorogenic acids are a family of esters formed between quinic acid and a cinnamic acid. The three that dominate green coffee are 3-caffeoylquinic acid, 4-caffeoylquinic acid and 5-caffeoylquinic acid: same atoms, different attachment point on the quinic acid ring, different molecules. Analysis of 23 commercial extracts by high-performance liquid chromatography found 5-caffeoylquinic acid predominant Otaif 2026. A label reading 50% chlorogenic acids is a sum over a mixture whose composition it does not state.

The enzyme claim is real, and its provenance is the most informative thing about this supplement. Chlorogenic acid was identified as a specific inhibitor of the glucose-6-phosphate translocase component of the glucose-6-phosphatase system - the transporter that carries glucose-6-phosphate into the endoplasmic reticulum so it can be hydrolyzed to free glucose and released. Block that and hepatic glucose output falls, which is why a pharmaceutical group went looking. The 1997 paper measured glucose-6-phosphate hydrolysis in intact rat liver microsomes, found that changing the 3-position of chlorogenic acid barely mattered, and found that adding a lipophilic side chain at the 1-position produced inhibitors 100-fold more potent. It was one of those synthetic derivatives, compound 29i, that produced dose-dependent inhibition of gluconeogenesis and glycogenolysis in an isolated perfused rat liver Hemmerle 1997.

Read that the right way round. The mechanism printed on green coffee bottles comes from a medicinal-chemistry program whose entire purpose was that chlorogenic acid itself is too weak to use, in a microsome preparation, in a rat. The molecule is the STARTING MATERIAL of that story, not its conclusion. Nothing in it has been demonstrated in a human liver.

And there is a chemical reason it could not have been. Chlorogenic acid is an ester, and the human small intestine absorbs only a minority of the intact ester; the rest travels to the colon, where bacterial esterases cleave it into caffeic acid and quinic acid and then carry on breaking the released caffeic acid down further. A systematic evaluation of 47 human intervention studies collected up to 105 hydroxycinnamic acid metabolites and found that the C6-C3 cinnamic acids - caffeic and ferulic acid - reached the highest blood concentrations at a Cmax of 423 nmol/L, with Tmax values from 2.7 to 4.2 hours. Urinary recovery was 4% for those, 1% for their phenylpropanoic acid derivatives, and 11% for hydroxybenzene catabolites; collectively the tracked metabolites accounted for about 25% of intake Di Pede 2023.

Two numbers in that paragraph do all the work. The largest urinary fraction belongs to the hydroxybenzene catabolites, which are microbial ring-fission products - the signature of a molecule taken apart by gut bacteria rather than absorbed intact. And a Tmax of 2.7 to 4.2 hours is a colonic arrival time, not a small-intestinal one. So the compound that was put in the microsome assay and the compounds circulating in a person who swallowed a capsule are different chemicals, and which ones a given person makes depends on that person's microbiota.

Then there is caffeine, which is the mechanism nobody prints because it is not the one being sold. Green coffee bean extract is a coffee extract; caffeine survives the extraction unless it is deliberately removed. Across those 23 commercial products, caffeine ranged from non-detectable to 3.82%, several products labeled decaffeinated exceeded regulatory caffeine thresholds, and only three declared a caffeine level at all - none of them fully compliant with its own label Otaif 2026. Caffeine is not inert for this endpoint: a two-sample mendelian randomization study using variants near CYP1A2 and AHR found that higher genetically predicted plasma caffeine was associated with lower body mass index (beta -0.08 SD, where 1 SD is about 4.8 kg/m2) and lower whole body fat mass (beta -0.06 SD, 1 SD about 9.5 kg) but not fat-free mass, and with a lower risk of type 2 diabetes at a combined odds ratio of 0.81, roughly 43% of which was mediated through the body mass index reduction Larsson 2023. An undeclared caffeine content in a weight-loss capsule is therefore not a labeling nicety. It is a competing explanation for whatever the trial measured.

Cell, rodent, human — and where it stops

This category has something almost no other supplement has: a documented account of how its founding evidence was made, written by a federal regulator.

The trial that started it. In 2012 a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled crossover study in 16 overweight adults tested 700 mg and 1050 mg of green coffee bean extract against placebo over six-week periods and reported a body weight reduction of 8.04 plus or minus 2.31 kg and a body mass index reduction of 2.92 plus or minus 0.85 kg/m2, with six participants moving from pre-obesity into the normal weight range Vinson 2012. Sixteen people, eight kilograms, twelve weeks of active dosing. It was retracted by the journal on 16 October 2014.

What happened in between is on the public record. On 8 September 2014 the sponsor, Applied Food Sciences, settled Federal Trade Commission charges for 3.5 million dollars. Per the FTC's complaint, the study's lead investigator repeatedly altered the weights and other key measurements of the subjects, changed the length of the trial, and misstated which subjects were taking placebo and which were taking the extract; when he could not get the study published, the company hired two researchers at the University of Scranton to rewrite it. That is the FTC's own summary of its case, and it is listed in the sources below. It is not a reason to disbelieve chlorogenic acid. It is a reason to treat the 8 kg figure as an artifact and start the evidence count from zero.

Starting from zero, here is what the human literature actually holds. A 2023 systematic review and meta-analysis pooled three randomized trials, 103 participants in total, of green coffee extract delivering at least 500 mg of chlorogenic acid per day, and found a weighted mean difference in body weight of -1.30 kg, 95% confidence interval -2.07 to -0.52, p = 0.001 Kanchanasurakit 2023. One hundred and three people is the entire pooled evidence base for the claim on the front of the bottle.

And a trial designed to look at body composition found none. A randomized crossover study in 29 subjects with overweight or obesity gave green coffee phenols, oat beta-glucan and the combination for 8 weeks, verified that dietary intake and physical activity were unchanged throughout, and reported no change in any body composition parameter measured, with any supplement tested García-Cordero 2022. That is the design that matters - a scale reading confounded by water and glycogen is not a fat measurement - and it is the design that came back empty.

The largest positive trial, reported in full, because it is the strongest thing this compound has. A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study gave 160 obese patients with metabolic syndrome 800 mg of green coffee daily or placebo for six months, with both arms advised on a balanced diet. The green coffee arm showed reductions in body mass index (p = 0.002), waist circumference (p = 0.038), blood glucose (p = 0.002), HbA1c (p < 0.001), insulin (p < 0.001), systolic (p = 0.005) and diastolic (p = 0.001) blood pressure, total cholesterol, LDL cholesterol and triglycerides, with a rise in HDL cholesterol (p = 0.008); plus reductions in homocysteine, total sialic acid, resistin, TNF-alpha, hs-CRP and malondialdehyde, a rise in adiponectin, and reduced miR-133a expression Khedr 2024.

Here is the specific obstacle to translating that one, and it is not a complaint about the investigators. The report does not state the caffeine content of the 800 mg capsule, and caffeine has an independent causal signal on the primary endpoint and on type 2 diabetes risk Larsson 2023. Second, a supplement that moves nearly every marker measured - anthropometry, glycemia, lipids, blood pressure, four inflammatory markers and a microRNA - in one single-center trial is a result to replicate before believing, precisely because effects that broad are rare and are what publication-bias corrections exist for. The honest position is that this trial is the best reason to run a bigger one, and that until it is replicated on a content-verified extract with a declared caffeine figure, the pooled -1.30 kg from 103 people remains the number that describes this category Kanchanasurakit 2023.

Green Coffee Bean Extract — which form, and does it matter

The form question for green coffee is unusually answerable, because somebody put 23 of these products through a chromatograph. Chlorogenic acid content ranged from non-detectable to 31.15%. Two samples labeled as containing 50% chlorogenic acids had none detected at all. Caffeine ranged from non-detectable to 3.82%. Several products marketed as decaffeinated exceeded regulatory caffeine thresholds. Only three samples declared a caffeine level, and none of the three was fully compliant with its own label. Cluster analysis sorted the 23 into four groups by chlorogenic acid and caffeine content, which is another way of saying they are not one product Otaif 2026.

So the first practical rule is a subtraction, not an addition. A panel reading 400 mg of green coffee bean extract standardized to 50% chlorogenic acids claims 200 mg of chlorogenic acids. The measured range above says that number can be anything from 200 mg to nothing, and there is no way to tell from outside the bottle. Products that publish a certificate of analysis naming the isomer profile are making a checkable statement; products that publish a percentage are making an unverified one.

Now the exposure reasoning, which is what decides the dose that matters. What arrives in blood is not chlorogenic acid. Colonic bacteria hydrolyze the ester and degrade the fragments, and in 47 human intervention studies the highest plasma species were caffeic and ferulic acid at a Cmax of 423 nmol/L with a Tmax of 2.7 to 4.2 hours; the largest single urinary fraction was hydroxybenzene catabolites at 11% of intake, and the tracked metabolites collectively accounted for around 25% Di Pede 2023. Sub-micromolar plasma concentrations of DEGRADATION PRODUCTS is the exposure this supplement actually delivers. The microsomal inhibition data behind the label were generated with the intact parent ester, and the same paper's synthetic analogs needed a 100-fold potency gain to be pharmacologically interesting Hemmerle 1997.

That also makes the reactor a variable no manufacturer controls. If the gut microbiota performs the hydrolysis, then two people swallowing identical capsules receive different mixtures of metabolites in different amounts. No green coffee product is dosed against a person's microbiome, and no trial in this literature has stratified by it.

Finally, the caffeine arithmetic, which is smaller than the internet says and larger than the label does. At the highest measured content of 3.82%, an 800 mg daily dose - the dose used in the six-month trial Khedr 2024 - carries about 31 mg of caffeine, roughly a third of a mug of brewed coffee. That is not a stimulant dose and it does not explain an 8 kg weight loss. It is also not zero, it is undeclared on 20 of 23 products, and it is the one component in the capsule with a demonstrated causal relationship to adiposity Larsson 2023. Anyone avoiding caffeine should treat an undeclared green coffee capsule as containing some.

What would have to be true, and how you would know it was not

1. The weight prediction, at 12 weeks. On an extract whose chlorogenic acid content has been verified by certificate of analysis, at 500 mg or more of chlorogenic acid per day, predict a difference from placebo of about 1 kg or less - the pooled estimate is -1.30 kg from 103 people Kanchanasurakit 2023. Predict also that the effect disappears when body composition rather than scale weight is the endpoint, because the one trial that measured composition over 8 weeks found nothing García-Cordero 2022. If a body composition endpoint moves in a replication, this page is wrong.

2. The head-to-head that would settle the category and has never been run. One extract, two arms, identical chlorogenic acid content, caffeine present in one and removed from the other, body weight and fat mass at 12 weeks. Predict the two arms are indistinguishable at the caffeine doses a capsule delivers - about 31 mg at the highest measured content Otaif 2026 - because that is far below the intakes the mendelian randomization work is describing Larsson 2023. If the caffeinated arm separates, the category is a weak caffeine product wearing a polyphenol label, and this page should say so.

3. The glycemic prediction, at 12 weeks. HbA1c and fasting insulin. The six-month trial reported both falling Khedr 2024. Predict that in a replication on a content-verified extract HbA1c moves by no more than 0.1 to 0.2 percentage points, which is inside the assay's own reproducibility and therefore not something a person can act on. A replication showing 0.5 percentage points or more would make this a glucose product rather than a weight product, and would be a much better reason to take it.

4. The inflammatory prediction, at 6 months. hs-CRP and homocysteine, both of which the six-month trial reported falling Khedr 2024. Predict no change in either on a content-verified extract in a second center. hs-CRP is the one to watch, because it is the marker in that panel with the lowest measurement noise relative to its reported effect, and because a real anti-inflammatory signal from a coffee polyphenol would be worth more than the weight claim ever was.

5. The pharmacokinetic prediction, which is the one that would prove the mechanism section wrong. Give a labeled retail capsule, draw plasma at 0, 1, 2, 4 and 8 hours, and assay intact chlorogenic acid alongside caffeic acid and ferulic acid. This page predicts that intact chlorogenic acid is at or near the limit of detection, that the caffeic and ferulic acid peaks land between 2.7 and 4.2 hours, and that they peak in the hundreds of nanomolar rather than the micromolar Di Pede 2023. If intact chlorogenic acid appears in plasma at micromolar concentrations, the whole metabolism argument above is wrong and the microsomal enzyme data become relevant to a person after all.

What nobody has tested yet

Nobody has published plasma metabolite curves after a named retail green coffee product. The bioavailability data are pooled across coffee, berries, herbs, cereals, tomato, orange and grape products Di Pede 2023, and the supplement analysis measured what is in the capsule but not what leaves it Otaif 2026. The measurement that joins the two has not been made, which means no green coffee trial's dose has ever been expressed as an exposure.

Nobody has demonstrated the glucose-6-phosphate translocase step in a human. The demonstration is intact rat liver microsomes and an isolated perfused rat liver, and the perfused-liver experiment used a synthetic derivative selected for being 100-fold more potent than chlorogenic acid Hemmerle 1997. A hepatic glucose production study with stable isotopes in people, on a verified extract, would either establish the mechanism or retire it. It costs a fraction of a weight-loss trial and it has not been done.

Nobody has run the decaffeinated head-to-head. It is the cheapest decisive experiment in this file and the whole category depends on its result Larsson 2023.

Nobody has related microbiota composition to metabolite yield in a green coffee trial, even though the 2.7 to 4.2 hour Tmax and the dominance of hydroxybenzene catabolites in urine say the microbiota is the reactor doing the work Di Pede 2023. Two people on the same capsule are plausibly on two different doses, and nobody has measured the spread.

And the caffeine content of the largest positive trial is unknown. The six-month study in 160 people does not report it Khedr 2024. A single line in a methods section would have removed the main alternative explanation for its own result, and its absence is the reason that trial cannot yet close this question.

Green Coffee Bean Extract — its own safety story, not its category's

The honest headline is that this one's risk story is not liver injury, and saying so matters, because it sits on the shelf beside products where it is. Nothing in the sources read for this page reports a hepatotoxicity signal for green coffee bean extract comparable to the case series that exist for other weight-loss botanicals. What this product's own risk story is made of is caffeine you cannot count and content you cannot verify.

The caffeine problem is a labeling problem with a clinical edge. Across 23 commercial products, several marketed as decaffeinated exceeded regulatory caffeine thresholds, and only three declared a caffeine figure - none of which was fully compliant with its label Otaif 2026. For most people 31 mg is nothing. For somebody avoiding caffeine because of an arrhythmia, an anxiety disorder, pregnancy, or a medicine that competes for the same clearance route - caffeine is cleared largely by CYP1A2, which is where the genetic instrument in the mendelian randomization work sits Larsson 2023 - a capsule that says decaffeinated and is not is a real problem, and it is invisible.

Two pharmacological interactions follow from taking the largest trial's results seriously. If green coffee genuinely lowers blood glucose, HbA1c and insulin Khedr 2024, then adding it to insulin, a sulfonylurea or a glinide is stacking two hypoglycemic stimuli. If it genuinely lowers systolic and diastolic pressure Khedr 2024, the same argument applies to antihypertensives. Neither is a reason not to take it; both are reasons the person writing the prescription should be told about it.

The quality failure has its own consequence, and it runs in both directions. Two products labeled 50% chlorogenic acids contained none detected Otaif 2026. A capsule containing nothing is safe in the trivial sense and dishonest in every other, and it also means a person who tolerates one brand has learned nothing about the next. Buy on a certificate of analysis or accept that the dose is unknown.

Finally, the thing a buyer is owed about this category rather than this bottle. The trial that created the green coffee market was retracted, and its sponsor settled Federal Trade Commission charges for 3.5 million dollars over how its data were produced Vinson 2012. That is a matter of public record, listed in the sources below, and it is not a statement about whether chlorogenic acid does anything - the honest evidence for that is a pooled 1.30 kg from 103 people Kanchanasurakit 2023 and one 6-month trial that needs replicating Khedr 2024. It is a statement about how much weight to put on marketing in this aisle. Nothing here is medical advice, and none of these statements has been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.

Sources read for this page

How you would know if it worked

The proposed mechanism is inhibition of hepatic glucose output, so glycemia is where it would show, and the one large trial - 160 people with metabolic syndrome, 6 months - reported falls in fasting glucose, HbA1c, insulin and hs-CRP together. hs-CRP is the one that distinguishes this from every other glucose supplement on the shelf: if the inflammatory marker moves and the glycemic ones do not, the effect is not the mechanism on the label. Neither result has been replicated, so these three numbers are a test of that trial rather than a promise from it.

The cheapest panel carrying HbA1c (Hemoglobin A1c) and at least one other of these is Am I Prediabetic?, at $19 — the panel is named for a different question, and the marker is the same marker. That is the whole cost of finding out.

Draw before you start, not after. A result with nothing to compare it to answers nothing.

Green Coffee Bean Extract — safety & side effects

Not medical advice. If you take prescription medication or have a diagnosed condition, check this against it with a pharmacist or doctor — pharmacists are underused and free.

Build your foundation with Coach Cam

The full Supplement Vault — 371 products across 14 categories with clinical, correlative & theoretical evidence, plus my Thorne partner links — lives inside Skool alongside 278 peptides.

Join Skool — $10/mo →

Bloodwork to run alongside Green Coffee Bean Extract

Baseline first, then again at 8–12 weeks.

MarkerWhat it’s watching for
HbA1c (Hemoglobin A1c)Three-month average — the honest baseline
Fasting InsulinCatches the compensating phase HbA1c can't see
Lipid Panel (Cholesterol, HDL, LDL, Triglycerides)Triglycerides respond to metabolic change faster than anything
TSH (Thyroid-Stimulating Hormone)Rule out the thyroid before blaming willpower

The Metabolic Health & Prediabetes panel covers these in one order — 8 markers, $81.45 with the discount applied.

Check results you already have → · All 103 markers A–Z

Green Coffee Bean Extract — frequently asked questions

What is Green Coffee Bean Extract?

An extract of unroasted coffee beans sold for its chlorogenic acids. The trial that created the category was retracted and its sponsor settled Federal Trade Commission charges over how the data were produced. What is left is a pooled 1.3 kg from three trials in 103 people.

What is the suggested dose of Green Coffee Bean Extract?

Trials used an extract delivering 500 mg or more of chlorogenic acids daily; the 6-month metabolic-syndrome trial used 800 mg of extract. This is a general reference for education only — statements have not been evaluated by the FDA and this is not medical advice.

What are the researched benefits of Green Coffee Bean Extract?

Pooled across three randomized trials totaling 103 participants, at 500 mg or more of chlorogenic acid daily, body weight fell 1.30 kg against placebo (95% CI -2.07 to -0.52).

Who is Green Coffee Bean Extract for?

Anyone weighing this against a coffee habit or a plain caffeine product. On current evidence it is not a fat-loss agent.

Where can I buy Green Coffee Bean Extract?

Coach Cam sources Green Coffee Bean Extract from vetted, top-rated brands on iHerb — use the buy link on this page.

What Green Coffee Bean Extract is used for

Green Coffee Bean Extract appears under 1 goal in the goal router.

🔥 Lose fatAppetite & satiety signaling

Where this goes next

Go deeper$10/mo

The pages here are the frameworks. The protocols — the dosing, the order to correct things in, the week-by-week schedule and what to retest — are inside Skool.

← Browse the full Supplement Vault

↑ Back to on this page