Home › Supplement Vault › Forskolin

Forskolin

Also sold as: Coleus forskohlii, Plectranthus barbatus, Forskohlii Root Extract

Metabolic & Weight✅ Clinically validated📊 Correlative data🧪 Theoretical

The labdane diterpene cell biologists use to raise cyclic AMP, because it activates adenylyl cyclase directly and skips the receptor and the G protein entirely. That is why it appears in thousands of papers as a positive control. Whether a swallowed 25 mg capsule reaches anything like the concentration a pipette uses is a separate question, and it is arithmetic rather than opinion.

Educational use only — not medical advice. These statements have not been evaluated by the FDA. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.

Forskolin quick facts

Suggested doseBoth human trials used 250 mg of a 10% forskolin extract twice daily, which is 50 mg of forskolin a day. If a label does not state the forskolin percentage, the dose of the molecule the research is about is unknown.
How oftenTwice daily
Who it's forAnyone who wants the cyclic AMP mechanism explained properly before deciding. Worth knowing that the eye and the airway, not the capsule, are where this molecule was actually developed.
Coach Cam’s take

The pharmacology is genuinely excellent and the delivery is the whole problem, which is worth understanding before buying either this or anything else sold on a bench mechanism. Work the exposure out: 25 mg of a molecule weighing 410 daltons, distributed through a body, cannot exceed about 1.4 micromolar even with perfect absorption — and the concentration used to activate the enzyme at the bench is around 10 micromolar. No human oral pharmacokinetic study of forskolin exists to check that arithmetic against. The one human trial people cite moved body composition and free testosterone, not body weight, and has never been repeated with the forskolin content of the capsule declared. Half the products tested in a 2022 fraud analysis were below label and one in six was a different plant.

How Forskolin actually works

A labdane diterpene that activates adenylyl cyclase DIRECTLY, binding at the interface between the enzyme's two cytoplasmic domains rather than at any receptor. That is why it appears in thousands of papers as a positive control: it raises cAMP in a cell whose receptors have been blocked, desensitized or deleted, which no hormone can do. Raised cAMP activates protein kinase A, which phosphorylates hormone-sensitive lipase and perilipin and releases stored triglyceride — the same final step a beta-agonist reaches through a receptor. It activates eight of the nine membrane-bound isoforms; adenylyl cyclase 9 is the exception, and its structure shows why.

⚠️ Good to know: ⚠️ Raising cyclic AMP without a receptor has predictable consequences — vasodilation, a fall in blood pressure, a rise in heart rate and contractility, and inhibited platelet aggregation. Declare it before surgery and alongside antihypertensives, nitrates, PDE5 inhibitors or anticoagulants. And read the certificate of analysis: half the products in one 24-product survey contained no forskolin and 17% were a different plant.
⏱ Timing that matters for safety: It lowers blood pressure by mechanism, so take care if you already run low or take anything antihypertensive — and a home cuff will tell you more in a week than any panel

Where to get Forskolin

Find Forskolin on iHerb →
Top-rated brands on iHerb · Coach Cam partner link

The evidence for Forskolin

Graded by what exists behind each claim.

✅ Clinically validated

📊 Correlative data

🧪 Theoretical / extrapolated benefits

How to read these tiers: they say how much human evidence exists, not how well something works — and ✗ flags harm, never a disappointing trial. How the evidence tiers work →

What Forskolin actually does

This is not a fat-loss molecule that happens to have a mechanism. It is a laboratory reagent that happens to be sold as a fat-loss molecule, and the reagent is the interesting half. Forskolin is a labdane diterpene of 410.5 daltons from the root of Coleus forskohlii. It appears in thousands of papers as the positive control for cyclic AMP, and it earns that place because it does something almost nothing else does: it activates adenylyl cyclase directly, at the enzyme itself, with no receptor and no G protein involved.

To see why that is possible you have to look at where the enzyme came from. The nine membrane-bound adenylyl cyclases of a human cell are pseudoheterodimers: one polypeptide folded so that two homologous halves, C1 and C2, come together and build a single catalytic site at their interface. Bioinformatics dates that architecture to a bacterial monomer that duplicated and fused in a primordial eukaryote roughly 1.5 billion years ago, and the nine isoforms had finished diverging about 0.5 billion years ago; the two catalytic domains stayed conserved while everything else drifted apart Schultz 2022. Because the ancestor was a symmetric dimer, the modern interface still has 2 pockets. One of them makes cyclic AMP out of ATP. The other is the degenerate copy, and that is the one forskolin sits in. Forskolin is an allosteric activator binding a vestige.

The cleanest demonstration that this bypasses the receptor is an experiment that was not about forskolin. Rhinovirus C15 was applied to human precision-cut lung slices and to isolated human airway smooth muscle. It blunted relaxation to formoterol, a beta-2 agonist, and to cholera toxin, which acts one step lower at the stimulatory G protein — and it did not blunt relaxation to forskolin. In isolated smooth muscle cells, media conditioned by virus-exposed airway epithelium reduced relaxation to isoproterenol and to prostaglandin E2 and left the forskolin response intact, and cyclic AMP generation behaved the same way; expression of GNAI1 and GRK2 shifted Gebski 2023. The lesion was above the cyclase. Forskolin starts below it, so the lesion is invisible to it. That is the mechanism, shown by an assay designed to study something else.

The isoforms are not equivalent, which is the part the word 'activates cAMP' hides. Adenylyl cyclase 6, the dominant isoform of the pulmonary artery, has a forskolin site built from threonine 500, asparagine 503 and serine 1035; mutate any of the 3 and forskolin-stimulated activity falls. Of isoforms 5, 6 and 7, only adenylyl cyclase 6 is inhibited by hypoxia and by S-nitrosocysteine, and those forskolin-contacting residues are not the hypoxia mechanism Bhatia 2023. At the other end, adenylyl cyclase 9 is only weakly activated by forskolin. It is fully activated by the G-protein alpha-s subunit and autoinhibited by its own C-terminus, and cryo-electron microscopy of it in four conformations shows that rearrangement of the secondary structure around the forskolin site is what activation consists of Qi 2022. So 'forskolin raises cyclic AMP' is 9 separate statements with 9 different answers, and which one applies to a given tissue depends on which isoform that tissue expresses.

And a global rise in cyclic AMP is not a stronger version of a receptor signal. It is a different signal. In vascular smooth muscle the nucleotide is not a bath: phosphodiesterases carve it into subcellular compartments so that a receptor firing at the membrane produces cyclic AMP in one microdomain and not another, and that compartmentation is what decides which effector responds Lorigo 2021. A drug that lifts the whole cell at once erases the addressing. Anyone reasoning that forskolin should behave like a gentle beta-agonist is reasoning from a concentration, not from the architecture.

Cell, rodent, human — and where it stops

The bench works in micromolar. The bottle works in milligrams. The whole translation problem for this compound is the conversion between those 2 units, and it is done in the form section below because it is arithmetic, not opinion.

The human trial everybody cites is Godard 2005, and what it measured is not what it is sold as. Thirty overweight and obese men, 15 on forskolin and 15 on placebo, randomized and double-blind for 12 weeks, taking 250 mg of a 10% forskolin extract twice daily — that is 50 mg of forskolin a day. Body fat percentage and fat mass by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry fell against placebo at p at or below 0.05. Bone mass changed against placebo. Lean body mass showed a trend at p = 0.097. Serum free testosterone rose against placebo at p at or below 0.05, and total testosterone moved 16.77 plus or minus 33.77 percent against a fall of 1.08 plus or minus 18.35 percent on placebo, which was not a significant difference between the groups Godard 2005. Read that list again for what is absent: no significant reduction in body weight is reported. Body composition and body weight are different endpoints, and the difference is the entire story of this supplement.

The second trial changed one thing in the design and the anthropometry disappeared. Loftus 2015 gave the same 250 mg of extract twice daily for 12 weeks to 30 completers, and put both arms on a hypocaloric diet. Waist and hip circumference fell significantly — in both groups, at p = 0.02 and p = 0.01. High-density lipoprotein cholesterol rose — in both groups, at p = 0.01. The only endpoints that favored the extract over placebo were insulin concentration at p = 0.001 and insulin resistance at p = 0.01 Loftus 2015. When the control group also diets, the diet does the tape measure and the extract does not.

Two trials, 30 subjects each, the same product at the same dose, and the variable that separates them is whether the placebo arm was also losing weight. That is not a contradiction to be averaged. It is a demonstration that the anthropometric signal in the first trial has never been reproduced against a dieting control, and the metabolic signal in the second — insulin — has never been reproduced at all.

Where the compound was actually developed is the eye and the airway, and neither uses a capsule. Forskolin raises cyclic AMP in the ciliary body, which reduces aqueous humor formation and lowers intraocular pressure; that is the basis of the ophthalmic interest, and a 2024 narrative review consolidates the preclinical and clinical work on it alongside epigallocatechin gallate for glaucoma and retinal disease Rusciano 2024. It is a narrative review rather than a trial, and it is describing a molecule delivered onto the tissue. The asthma work applied it to the airway directly. Every serious clinical use of this diterpene has put it next to its target.

Forskolin — which form, and does it matter

The only number on a forskolin label worth reading is the standardization percentage, and the arithmetic behind it is the reason this page exists. Both human trials used 250 mg of a 10% extract twice a day Godard 2005 Loftus 2015. That is 25 mg of forskolin per capsule and 50 mg per day. Everything below follows from those 2 numbers.

Start with the raw material, because 10% is not a natural state. Across 7 germplasm accessions of Coleus forskohlii collected from different phytogeographical locations in India and quantified by high-performance thin-layer chromatography, forskolin ranged from 1.15% down to 0.004% of dry weight, and its isomer iso-forskolin from 0.0091% to 0.1077%, with the variation tracking soil nitrogen, phosphorus, potassium and micronutrient content Shukla 2022. That is close to a 300-fold spread in the root itself. 'Coleus forskohlii root' on a panel is therefore not a dose of anything, and a standardized extract exists precisely because the root is not.

Then look at what the standardization is actually worth on a shelf. Twenty-four Coleus forskohlii root supplements were put through gas chromatography and liquid chromatography coupled to mass spectrometry. Forskolin was detected in 50% of them, across a range of 0.032% to 17.1%; 27% of the ones that contained it carried less than the label declared; and in 17% the plant had been replaced outright by green tea, soy leaves or a member of the Berberidaceae. An accelerated stability study ruled out degradation as the explanation for the 25% with none in them Jiménez Amezcua 2022. Half the products in that sample were not the intervention either trial studied.

Now the exposure arithmetic, which is the number nobody prints. Take the trial dose at its most generous: 25 mg swallowed at once, absorbed completely, no loss to gut-wall or hepatic first-pass metabolism, distributed instantly through 42 liters of total body water and bound to nothing. 25 mg of a 410.5 dalton molecule is 60.9 µmol; in 42 L that is 1.45 µmol/L. That is a ceiling, not an estimate — no real oral dose can exceed it. Against it, forskolin is a lipophilic diterpene: it is a substrate for cytochrome P450 oxidation and for glucuronidation, its oral bioavailability has never been measured in a person, and a lipophilic terpenoid of this class is extensively bound to plasma protein, so the free fraction is a fraction of a fraction of 1.45 µmol/L. The concentration at which forskolin is used to raise cyclic AMP in a dish is conventionally 10 µmol/L, and the working range in the isoform studies above sits in single-digit micromolar Bhatia 2023 Qi 2022. The most optimistic possible oral number is already roughly an order of magnitude below the bench range before absorption takes anything off it.

That is why every credible route for this molecule is a local one. A drop onto the ciliary body, an inhaled dose into an airway, or an injection in a laboratory all put the diterpene beside the enzyme at a concentration a pipette chose Rusciano 2024. The capsule is the one route that asks a poorly soluble terpenoid to reach 9 isoforms of a membrane enzyme through a portal circulation, and it is the only route sold. If forskolin were working systemically at 50 mg a day, it would be doing so at a concentration no published experiment has ever used.

One more thing the form question decides: which part of the plant. The supplement is a root extract. A hydroethanolic extract of Plectranthus barbatus leaf — the same species under its other accepted name — relaxes the aorta of spontaneously hypertensive rats almost completely, with a half-maximal effective concentration near 347 µg/mL, and the mechanism the authors identify is endothelium-dependent and involves muscarinic receptors plus calcium-activated and voltage-dependent potassium channels, not forskolin and not cyclic AMP Moser 2023. Leaf is not root, and this plant has more than one vasoactive pharmacology in it.

What would have to be true, and how you would know it was not

1. Free testosterone, at 0, 6 and 12 weeks, on a product whose forskolin content has been assayed. Godard reported a significant rise in serum free testosterone against placebo at 50 mg of forskolin a day Godard 2005, and that is the single most checkable claim this supplement has. Predict it replicates on a content-verified extract and does not replicate on an unverified one. If free testosterone and total testosterone rise identically on a capsule that assay shows contains no forskolin Jiménez Amezcua 2022, the argument on this page is wrong.

2. Fasting insulin and HOMA-IR at 12 weeks, and this is the prediction the mechanism supports best. Insulin was the only between-group win in the diet-controlled trial, at p = 0.001 Loftus 2015. Predict the insulin signal is the reproducible one and the waist measurement is not, because the waist measurement has already failed once against a dieting control.

3. Scale weight against DXA body fat, measured on the same day. Predict scale weight does not separate from placebo on forskolin alone, because no trial has ever reported that it does Godard 2005 Loftus 2015. A product sold for weight loss whose own best trial did not report weight loss is a product whose label is one endpoint away from its evidence.

4. Home blood pressure, 7 consecutive mornings, before and at 8 weeks — and this one is a test of the arithmetic rather than of the claim. An agent that raises cyclic AMP in vascular smooth muscle has to relax it Lorigo 2021. If 50 mg a day reached a systemically active concentration, a measurable fall in systolic pressure would be the most predictable consequence in the whole profile. Predict no detectable change. If a fall does appear, the exposure ceiling computed above is wrong and this compound is more bioavailable than any published data suggest — which would be the most useful result anyone has produced on it.

5. The pharmacokinetic study that has never been run, and it is a single afternoon of work. Give one 250 mg capsule of an assayed 10% extract, draw plasma at 0.5, 1, 2, 4 and 8 hours, and measure forskolin by liquid chromatography-tandem mass spectrometry. Prediction: the peak concentration is below 100 nmol/L, roughly 2 orders of magnitude under the concentration used at the bench Bhatia 2023. That one curve would settle 20 years of argument about this ingredient.

What nobody has tested yet

Nobody has published a human oral pharmacokinetic curve for forskolin. Searching the indexed literature for forskolin plasma concentrations after an oral dose returns formulation and nanocarrier papers and no human exposure data at all. Every milligram figure recommended for this supplement, including the 250 mg twice daily both trials used, is a dose with no measured concentration behind it Godard 2005.

Nobody knows which isoform a swallowed dose reaches first. Adenylyl cyclase 6 dominates the pulmonary artery and has a mapped forskolin site Bhatia 2023; adenylyl cyclase 9 barely responds Qi 2022; adipose, liver and skeletal muscle each carry their own mixture. The tissue selectivity of oral forskolin is unmeasured, which means the fat-loss rationale has never been shown to apply to adipocytes rather than to whichever tissue is best perfused.

Nobody has repeated Godard with the content declared. One trial in 15 men, published in 2005, is still the entire basis of the body-composition claim Godard 2005, and the only other 12-week trial changed the control condition Loftus 2015. The obvious study — 2 arms, both on the same diet, both taking an extract assayed for forskolin, one at 50 mg a day and one at 0 — has not been run in 20 years.

Nobody has compared the routes head to head. The ophthalmic and inhaled literatures exist because local delivery works Rusciano 2024, and no study has ever measured what the same daily milligrams do to any endpoint when swallowed instead. That comparison is the one that would tell a buyer whether the capsule is a weaker version of a real drug or a different thing entirely.

And nobody has characterized what the other half of the products contain. Half the sampled supplements had no forskolin, a quarter had none for reasons stability testing could not explain, and 17% were a different plant Jiménez Amezcua 2022. What is in those capsules instead has not been fully identified, and that is a safety question as much as a quality one.

Forskolin — its own safety story, not its category's

The mechanism writes the risk list, and it is not the list on the bottle. Cyclic AMP is the relaxing second messenger of vascular smooth muscle and the contractile second messenger of cardiac muscle. An agent that raises it without a receptor therefore has a mechanism for vasodilation, for a fall in blood pressure, and for an increase in heart rate and contractility. Nothing about the plant makes those consequences herbal.

The interaction that actually matters is anything acting on the same nucleotide. Phosphodiesterase inhibitors work on the disposal side of cyclic AMP and cyclic GMP, and phosphodiesterase-mediated compartmentation is how vascular smooth muscle keeps those signals addressed Lorigo 2021. Stacking a direct cyclase activator on top of a PDE5 inhibitor, a nitrate, or an antihypertensive is loading both ends of one pathway. Cyclic AMP also inhibits platelet aggregation, which is a reason to declare this before surgery and alongside an anticoagulant. None of these is a prohibition; all of them are things a prescriber should be told.

The gastric point follows from the same chemistry and is worth stating as reasoning rather than as data: cyclic AMP is the second messenger for histamine-driven acid secretion in the parietal cell, so a receptor-independent cyclase activator has a plausible route to raising acid output. Anyone with reflux or an ulcer should treat that as a reason to watch rather than as a documented harm.

The concrete risk in this category is not the molecule, it is the capsule. In a 24-product survey, 17% of Coleus forskohlii supplements had been adulterated with a different plant altogether — green tea, soy leaves, or a Berberidaceae species Jiménez Amezcua 2022. If a capsule contains green tea extract, then the caffeine, the catechins and the hepatic case reports that go with concentrated green tea extract are what has actually been taken. That is a specific, measured substitution rate, not a general worry about supplements.

Two more, briefly. The leaf of this species has its own vasodilator pharmacology, endothelium-dependent and channel-mediated, which is not the root's Moser 2023 — a leaf tea and a root capsule are different products. And there are no controlled human exposure data in pregnancy for a compound that raises cyclic AMP systemically, which is an absence rather than a finding, in the population least able to absorb one. Nothing here is medical advice, and none of these statements has been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.

Sources read for this page

How you would know if it worked

These are the markers this product's own mechanism names, which makes them the ones that would show it working.

Draw before you start, not after. A result with nothing to compare it to answers nothing.

Forskolin — safety & side effects

Not medical advice. If you take prescription medication or have a diagnosed condition, check this against it with a pharmacist or doctor — pharmacists are underused and free.

Build your foundation with Coach Cam

The full Supplement Vault — 371 products across 14 categories with clinical, correlative & theoretical evidence, plus my Thorne partner links — lives inside Skool alongside 278 peptides.

Join Skool — $10/mo →

Bloodwork to run alongside Forskolin

Baseline first, then again at 8–12 weeks.

MarkerWhat it’s watching for
HbA1c (Hemoglobin A1c)Three-month average — the honest baseline
Fasting InsulinCatches the compensating phase HbA1c can't see
Lipid Panel (Cholesterol, HDL, LDL, Triglycerides)Triglycerides respond to metabolic change faster than anything
TSH (Thyroid-Stimulating Hormone)Rule out the thyroid before blaming willpower

The Metabolic Health & Prediabetes panel covers these in one order — 8 markers, $81.45 with the discount applied.

Check results you already have → · All 103 markers A–Z

Forskolin — frequently asked questions

What is Forskolin?

The labdane diterpene cell biologists use to raise cyclic AMP, because it activates adenylyl cyclase directly and skips the receptor and the G protein entirely. That is why it appears in thousands of papers as a positive control. Whether a swallowed 25 mg capsule reaches anything like the concentration a pipette uses is a separate question, and it is arithmetic rather than opinion.

What is the suggested dose of Forskolin?

Both human trials used 250 mg of a 10% forskolin extract twice daily, which is 50 mg of forskolin a day. If a label does not state the forskolin percentage, the dose of the molecule the research is about is unknown. This is a general reference for education only — statements have not been evaluated by the FDA and this is not medical advice.

What are the researched benefits of Forskolin?

The 2005 trial randomized 30 overweight and obese men to 250 mg of a 10% forskolin extract twice daily or placebo for 12 weeks. Body fat percentage and fat mass by DXA fell against placebo, serum free testosterone rose, and lean body mass showed a trend at p = 0.097. No significant reduction in body weight is reported — body composition and body weight are different endpoints.

Who is Forskolin for?

Anyone who wants the cyclic AMP mechanism explained properly before deciding. Worth knowing that the eye and the airway, not the capsule, are where this molecule was actually developed.

Where can I buy Forskolin?

Coach Cam sources Forskolin from vetted, top-rated brands on iHerb — use the buy link on this page.

What Forskolin is used for

Forskolin appears under 1 goal in the goal router.

🔥 Lose fatDirect lipolysis & adrenergic drive

Where this goes next

Go deeper$10/mo

The pages here are the frameworks. The protocols — the dosing, the order to correct things in, the week-by-week schedule and what to retest — are inside Skool.

← Browse the full Supplement Vault

↑ Back to on this page